Central Experimental Farm, Ottawa, Canada

February 2017: Friday afternoon, I was in the car returning from an afternoon of chores, and I was looking for an image, that I could use on a slide presentation, to explain “Change of Use“, a term used in the Ontario Building Code.  I am updating a course that I am writing.  I remembered the central barn at the Experimental Farm, changed from the use of a working barn, to a museum.

The Main Dairy Barn, also known as Building No. 88,  is a large three-storey banked barn building with a gable roof and two side wings. The exterior materials – stone, wood shingles, board and batten – are all part of a larger architectural vocabulary used on the Farm.

As I parked the car to take the picture, I also took a picture of this adjacent building, thinking it also could be the subject of my slide- Change of use, as it looked like the workshop, or office was now used for washrooms serving the museum, and the surrounding grounds.

img_4376

 

 

Leave a Reply

